#NaNoWriMo Day 19: 37k (plus excerpt)

I didn’t make my goal of writing 3k today, but 2k is still above par so it’s kind of like aiming for an A+ and then complaining when you get an A instead. I’m still hating my writing a little bit, so that was probably a factor in addition to me not writing at least 1k at midnight like I usually do.

In this excerpt, Mathias has just asked Selene out, but she’s not ready to give him an immediate answer. He gives her his phone number so she can call when she’s decided. She’s on her way home with her twin brother, Connor, who hasn’t exactly made it a secret that he’s not Mathias’s biggest fan. Connor is dating a girl called Janice, who Selene doesn’t like, either.

My phone felt heavy in my pocket. I had no good reason to say no. I liked him. But it was almost a guarantee that we’d have to pick up and leave again before the hunters caught our scent. This wasn’t going to last.

Connor darted ahead of me to get the front door. “Ladies first.”

“Right.” I paused on the threshold. “Question.”

“Hit me. I mean, not literally.” He grinned at his own joke. I decided not to dignify it with a response.

“How do you keeping dating people when you know you’re just gonna have to leave them in the end?”

Connor prodded me until I stepped inside, shutting the door behind us. “Honestly? I try not to think about it.”

“Yeah, well, that’s not really an option for me.”

Connor dragged me over to the couch. I kind of just went with it, even though I didn’t really feel like sitting down when I’d rather be pacing the room like a caged lion or something. Connor slouched into the corner of the couch, drumming his fingers against the armrest.

“You’ve just got to focus on the present more than the future,” he said, watching his hand rather than me. “It’s not like we know exactly what the future holds anyway. I don’t know how you dwell on it so much without having a breakdown.”

“Shows what you know.”

That forced a tiny laugh out of him. “It’s just… I can either sit at home afraid of losing people again, or I can make the most of the time I have with them. Get me?”

“Possibly.” It was the kind of logic I should’ve expected from him. If you don’t know what’s down the road, stop trying to peer through the fog. All you’ll do is lose track of what’s right in front of you.

Connor dug a fingernail into a tiny tear in the upholstery. “You should call him. Forget about the hunters for a minute and do something that makes you happy.”

“You don’t even like him.”

“You don’t like Janice but you aren’t trying to get between us, either.”

“Point taken.” I slid my phone out of my pocket. I’d never encountered anything that was too heavy for me to lift, but this damn well felt close.

Leave a Reply

