#NaNoWriMo Day 18: 35k (and excerpt)

I’m still sticking to my 3k a day plans for the rest of my week off so far. Hopefully that’ll remain the case. Being that I’m finally at the parts of this story I’ve been wanting to write, things should go much smoother for the rest of the month. Famous last words? I hope not. I want to get a good chunk of this done, ideally more than 50k before month’s end, but that’ll be a tall order with the rehearsals for the end of year show at my performing arts course about to enter the doomsday phase.

This excerpt is a little piece taken from the first group gathering of Connor’s friends over the school holidays. Selene tends to hang out with her siblings’ friends because she finds it hard to make friends on her own. There are a few couples aside from Selene’s love interest situation with Mathias. Connor is dating Janice and she and Selene aren’t exactly BFFs. A few supporting characters are also dating: Luke and Zoe, Tyler and Kayla, and José and Lauren. Not everyone appears in this particular part of the scene, but I figured I may as well lay out the whole thing.

I haven’t written m/f as the main romance in my novels for ages and it’s really weird for me right now. I don’t know. Hopefully it doesn’t show too much. I’ve been hiding the worst sections in the depths of my Word document for the moment.

The conversation soon turned to sports, as per usual. Conversation topics were like cake. Fine in moderation, sickening when you’re subjected to them constantly.

“I don’t know why,” Tyler was saying, “Mr Bentley just said they were having something done over the hols and we couldn’t use the oval.”

“Luke lives on one of those circle street things,” Zoe said.

“A cul-de-sac?” Connor supplied.

“Yeah, that.”

“Thanks for volunteering me.”

“Your sacrifice will be remembered for all time,” said Nick.

Our drinks showed up, disrupting the conversation for a few seconds until everyone had taken their first sip.

“So I guess we’re playing street cricket for two weeks straight,” said Mathias.

“You could play high-stakes hide-and-seek on the road,” I suggested.

The girls, even Janice, snickered. Nice to see someone appreciated my humour. Connor wasn’t even bothering to smile, just shaking his head in disappointment.

“And yet you called me the evil twin yesterday,” he said.

“You woke me up four in the morning.”

“You were complaining about the stars being covered by the clouds.”

“That wasn’t an invitation to jump on me. Why were you even awake?”

“To annoy you, obviously.”

Who’s the evil twin?”

“You’re both the evil twin,” said Kayla.

“Oh, thank God,” Lauren said, perking up. “The pizza is here to save us all.”

Connor and I called a truce to dig in. Not that it had been much of a real fight. It was rare that we actually fought over anything serious. With family ultimately being all we could rely on meant that truly fucking each other up wasn’t a particularly appealing idea, even if we did actually hate each other.

I did, however, hate the fact Janice decided to hand-feed Connor right at the table.

“So, Phoebe’s painting,” said Mathias, grabbing a slice of meat-lover’s from a plate on the centre of the table. “Connor’s friending. What are you doing?”

I shrugged. “Sleeping?”

“Oh, I’m sure that’s not all you do.” Mathias smirked a little, stirring the straw around in his glass of Coke. But before I could decide on the amount of force to smack him with, he said, “I may have overheard you playing around with something in music class before term ended. You write your own songs?”

“I attempt to.” I reached for the margherita pizza. It was a popular one. Inoffensive to pretty much everyone, it was always the first to go at any gathering. “Mostly piano. I’ve tried lyrics, too, but I’m not much of a word person.”

“Well, you have a way with words in everyday life.”

“Yeah, somehow my brilliance doesn’t transfer to paper.”

“That’s a shame. Maybe you’re selling yourself short.”

I shrugged. “It’s possible. Maybe I’m secretly a genius and I just don’t know it yet.”

“That’s the spirit.”

“It took me over a decade to get her to admit that much,” said Connor.

“Thanks for laying the groundwork.”

I rolled my eyes. “Stop getting along. It’s disturbing.”

“You should try being that honest,” Zoe said, nudging Luke.

“I’d rather not wind up dead in a ditch.”

“That was pretty honest,” said Lauren.

“Makes me wonder what exactly it is he’s afraid to say,” added Kayla.

“You three terrify me,” Luke said.

“They terrify me, too,” I told him.

“What exactly do you think we’re gonna to do you?” Lauren asked me.

“Well, we did have plans to lock those two in a cupboard together until they made out,” said Kayla, gesturing between me and Mathias, somewhat unnecessarily.

“I’m basically an escape artist,” I replied.

“As if you’d want to escape,” said Zoe.

Mathias slurped very loudly on his Coke. His cheeks had gone pink.

2 thoughts on “#NaNoWriMo Day 18: 35k (and excerpt)

  1. 1. Who the hell serves pizza on a plate!?
    2. I feel like every excerpt you’ve shared involved characters arguing with each other, lol.
    3. m/f romance…. who needs it right!?
    4. You’re doing so good! I hope I can help beta read this later. :3

    Like

    • 1. Eat-in places sometimes do.
      2. Arguments that are only half-serious are what I do best, apparently.
      3. The m/f in this story is a means to an end so I kinda have to deal with it haha.
      4. Thanks! I’ll have to see how I feel about the darn thing once it’s finished.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

