Nearly Time for NaNoWriMo

With less than five hours to go (at about 7:05 pm), I finished my outline of Wolf Moon. That’s a working title I’ve had for a while. I don’t like it, but that’s what I’ve got for now. The last chapter sucks because I haven’t been all that great with tying up loose ends. I guess I’ll write it and then fix it later if it still sucks once it’s on the page in fully-written form.

There are some parts that are freaking me out. I struggle to write about stage performances, especially when the character is the one doing them. So what have I done? Made the protagonist a musician and a dancer. Of course.

At least I’m fairly comfortable with the protagonist’s personality, a cynical introvert who finds it easier to just not make connections with people she’s just going to leave at the end of the year anyway. And then she gets dragged out of her shell and gasp! starts caring about people against her will. There’s an interesting juxtaposition with her twin brother, who is extremely extroverted and loves people, who love him right back. And their little sister falls somewhere in between, making a few close friends every year and then having to start the process all over again the next time the family moves to a new town.

And why does the family move a lot? Because they’re werewolves. Most humans aren’t ready to cope with knowing there are beings far stronger than they are just hanging about in their own school cafeteria. There’s also a threat of werewolf hunters finding the family, even though the family has never posed a danger to anyone in their lives.

Ah, I may as well just post my (potentially awful) summary from my NaNoWriMo page (I’ve linked to my author page rather than my book page in case I change the novel’s title):

The Grace family moves around a lot, rarely staying in the same place for more than a year. Between werewolf hunters and community scrutiny, it’s just safer to leave everything behind. Selene Grace, the oldest of three children, is used to keeping secrets. She’s a werewolf. She’s bisexual. She’s transgender. Making friends is hard enough for the average introverted teenager, let alone one who has to leave her friends behind every year and has a mountain of secrets she can’t see herself sharing with anyone.

Then a new boy starts at school, a week after the Grace kids, and takes an interest in Selene. An interest that she shares. But she’s seen her twin brother and little sister have their hearts broken often enough to know that it’s easier to not get attached.

So that’s what I’m working with this year. Hopefully I’ll manage to win this time. Ever since my first NaNoWriMo where I managed 91k in a month and sometimes had days where I’d write 10k, I haven’t seen that much success again. A few wins. Heaps of losses.

I’ve had this novel in my head for years. Hopefully now is the time to get it right. Guess we’ll find out!

Leave a Reply

