Camp NaNoWriMo Day 4

I managed to just break 17k for day 4, but I think I’m starting to slow down. That’s usually the way it goes for me. I’ll manage a few days of scary-high wordcounts before my brain rebels and I have to pull back. I rearranged some of my outline again so fit in some ideas that I hadn’t figured out where to place until now, and I’m facing some doubts about what I’ve written. I’m engaging in the good old-fashioned ‘ignore it and hope it goes away’ approach, at least until this draft is finished.

I had a hell of a time picking an excerpt to post today. There was a lot of comedy that didn’t work so well divorced from context (hell, it’s probably not even funny in context). Anyway, I finally settled on something. What’s bolded should be in italics, but the quote formatting is determined to destroy my life so I had to make do.

There was a storm that night. Valora refused to sleep, hanging onto a bedpost for dear life.

“We’re going to die.”

“We’re not going to die,” Darian said for the fifth time. Honestly, she didn’t like the storm any more than Valora did, but one of them had to hold it together. Cassandra had climbed into Valora’s bed rather than risk the top bunk.

“Look on the bright side,” said Cassandra. “If the boat goes down, there’s no way the Saviours are getting their hands on the knife. So we’d really be saving the world if we died right now.”

“Oh my gods shut up.”

“You tried,” Darian assured her.

“It could be worse,” Cassandra said. “Allan’s probably puking his guts up.”

“Raoul will take care of him,” Darian said. “With a pregnant wife, he needs all the practice he can get.”

“He’s married?” said Cassandra.

“For nearly six years,” Darian replied. “I’m amazed it’s taken this long for him and Isabel to make their own small humans, considering all the parenting he does to me.”

“Maybe he wanted to perfect his technique first.”

“Yeah, that’s probably it.”

“He’s gonna be the kind of dad who takes photos of everything,” Valora said. “You’ll be his first victim. Every time you visit, here’s another picture of his kid. Oh, look, the little gremlin’s on its stomach. Baby’s first smile. Baby’s first vomit. Baby’s first everything.”

“I’ll be strong.” Darian wasn’t exactly prepared for Raoul to have kids, knowing Raoul would want her to be a part of the baby’s life. She’d already fucked up her own life. Gods knew how she’d fuck up someone else’s kid.

“You’re gonna be a big sister,” Cassandra sang.

“I’m going be a terrible sister. Just you wait.”

“Well, if you need pointers, Simon’s got a little girl. I’m practically her big sister. I’ve got it down to a fine art.”

“Considering your singing voice sounds like a frog getting smashed with a hammer,” Valora said, “I don’t know if Darian should trust you with fine art.”

“Ouch, ‘Lora. You’re vicious when you’re scared out of your mind.”

“I’m always vicious. Being terrified of dying in the cold, heartless expanse of the ocean has nothing to do with it.”

“She’s got a point,” said Darian.

Leave a Reply

