Camp NaNoWriMo Day 2

I hit 9.3k today, so I didn’t write quite as much as yesterday, but I’m still on track to reach my 25k goal before I get back to school. It was my birthday today to my family and I went out to dinner. I’m now writing this from my aunt’s house, on my laptop which weighs about as much as a small child. The family was out today looking for smaller laptops that I can actually take places without carrying around some ridiculous luggage, but my brother nearly burst a blood vessel because the sales staff were talking out their asses most of the time. Fortunately, I have a cousin who actually knows what he’s talking about so we just asked him. So no new laptop for me today, but I think it’s effectively going to be my birthday present when I finally do get one.

On an unrelated note, I keep typing short words backwards for some reason. Help me.

Here’s an excerpt from my day 2 efforts:

Allan sat Darian on the floor, set slightly apart from the other refugees. “Let me take a look at you.”

“Can I stop you?” Darian replied, barely managing a smile.

“No.”

“You look ready to pass out,” Valora said, crouching by her side as Allan placed his hands on Darian’s head.

“I feel like it, too.”

“You saved our butts today,” Cassandra said. “You’ve earned a rest.”

“I didn’t contain a massive explosion,” Darian replied. “That was pretty cool.”

Valora rubbed her fingernails on her shirt. “Thanks. Just part of the job, you know?”

“You’re ridiculous,” Allan said, sitting back. “You’ll be fine, Darian. I know you probably want to go to sleep, but you should eat something first.”

“I can arrange that,” Tabitha said, joining them. “How’s our little trooper?”

“I’m not that little,” Darian protested.

“’How’s our average-sized trooper’ didn’t have the same ring to it.”

“Fair.”

Now I’m going to watch my brother and one of my other cousins watch weird shit on YouTube until it ticks over to midnight and/or I get home.

Leave a Reply

