I’m Back (Probably)

I can’t promise I’m back for good, but I am getting back into the swing of writing original fiction. I’m still writing my fanfiction as well because I plan to finish what I start, and I started a lot. I won’t go on about that too much on this blog, though, since I already have my tumblr for that. I’ve been updating my pages on this blog to better reflect where I am and who I am right now. I can forsee a lot more editing in the future as I sort myself out.

I’m a bit out of sorts at the moment, unable to fully settle down to do one thing at a time. I’m flitting between projects as the mood strikes me, which isn’t ideal but I’d rather do that than get bored. I’ll settle down in time. Last year wasn’t great for me from a life perspective, which probably didn’t help. I was accepted into a performing arts school that turned out to not be a great fit for me. I’ve since been accepted elsewhere and am waiting to see if I get an offer for a music degree from a university, which will affect my direction for this year.

On the blogging side of things, I have a feeling what I’ll blog about here will be a bit different from the past. The budding feminism that’s shown up in a few posts over time, however, is here to stay. As I get older I realise how much I don’t know about things, especially writing, though, as always, I have opinions by the bucketload. I’ll probably spend more time talking about diversity in YA fiction, since that’s something I’m working to improve in my own writing. Speaking of which, I’ve found it’s actually quite easy for me to diversify my novels in some ways and it feels a lot more natural to me than leaving them in their original state does. Obviously there will be some matters I’ll have to be careful about, given the fact I have a number of privileges since I am a white, cisgender middle-class person.

I also need to start reading more. I lost that somewhere over the last few years. Time to hit the bookshop, since my tastes have changed a little since I’ve found out a lot of things about myself. LGBT YA recommendations are welcome, especially if they’re fantasy novels.

I think I’ve babbled enough for the moment. It’s going to take some time for me to find my blogging voice again, and it’s going to be markedly different from the way I used to write. More conversational and less academic, for one.

Here’s to a productive and happy 2016 for all of us!

Leave a Reply

