The Versatile Blogger Award

I was recently nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award, so yay! Thanks to Ben at Story Multiverse for the nomination, who wrote:

A self-described “hormonal teenager” (but weren’t we/ aren’t they all?), Ann discusses writing, with a special emphasis on YA. If you’re into that market, you should give her blog a read.

(EDIT: Since this publication of this post I have received the award again, from Cassidy Cornblatt, via this post. Thanks, Cassidy.)

I found a set of rules on another blog so here they are:

Thank the person who nominated you. Tell 7 things about yourself so that your readers may learn more about you and nominate 15 other newly discovered bloggers and let them know you nominated them.

So here are seven things about me:

  1. I used to write Harry Potter fanfiction until I started writing my own novel at fifteen.
  2. I’m a sucker for Greek mythology
  3. I hate mathematics.
  4. Sometimes I use big words because I forget the small ones.
  5. I don’t particularly enjoy reading the classics, as much as I’ve tried.
  6. I sometimes lose my temper about things people think are trivial and stay calm about things everyone else is mad about.
  7. I like kids better now than when I was one of them.

Here are the blogs I nominate. There are only six of them because a number of blogs I was hoping to nominate have already received the award, so giving it to them again seemed redundant.

http://theresemichelle.wordpress.com/

Thérèse writes poetry, fiction and what she describes as “random thoughts”. Her poetry often has a minimalistic, sombre feel and her stories are often quiet little snippets in a character’s life.

http://commutinggirl.wordpress.com/

Elodie, who usually resides on the internet under the name Commutinggirl, reads and writes YA and is, let’s just say, a lot better and writing about books she’s read than I could ever be. From her bio, she’s a “French girl living in Germany” and her current project is a YA paranormal romance.

http://ladydaewrites.blogspot.com/

Lady Dae offers a lot of help with writing, from queries to cutting adverbs to plotting and everything else you could imagine.

http://katharineowens.blogspot.com/

Katharine writes middle grade and YA “with an environmental twist”. She posts reviews, does the occasional YA Highway Road Trip Wednesday, writes about her life and supports debut authors. And that’s just from a cursory glance at her blog. Katharine is the epitome of versatile.

http://glitter-n-gore.livejournal.com/

Glitter_n_gore writes about issues pertinent to YA as well as her own writing progress. She has a “neverending weakness for vampires” and specializes in horror and fantasy. She has some interesting posts about diversity in YA that caught my eye.

http://theallycat.livejournal.com/

Theallycat, who goes by Thalia on Absolute Write, shares writing techniques with a focus on YA. On the AW forums, she’s very friendly and helpful. She hasn’t written many posts on her blog, what she has is good stuff.

8 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Pingback: I would like to thank the academy for…The Versatile Blogger Award :-) « commutinggirl

  2. Pingback: Happy Friday #4: Shatter Me and other stories « commutinggirl

Leave a Reply

