2 Year Blogoversary

As of today, I have been blogging for two years. Looking back on the posts from previous Decembers, the first thought that struck me was “Wow, was I really too stupid to incorporate links into words?” because I always put the web address in brackets next to the title of whatever webpage I wanted to link. I also used the category “fact” a lot, which I’ve since stopped using as I’ve become more knowledgeable about how subjective most aspects of writing and publishing are. Topped up with an overuse of exclamation marks, weird word choices and a thoroughly self-centred approach to blogging (which, due to the lack of comments, clearly didn’t resonate with readers), I am very glad to have improved my blogging technique.

As far as statistics go, I’ve had far more hits this year than the previous one. In that first year there were some months where I’d barely even have fifty views all up, whereas now it’s a terrible month if I receive less than one hundred, and a mediocre one if I receive less than two hundred. I haven’t been able to find statistics for unique visitors on WordPress, only hits, so I don’t know how many of those views come from people sifting through various pages on the blog.

Back then, my posts were more rant-oriented than informative, a trend I’m still working to distance myself from so I can write blog posts people will actually want to read. There was the occasional gem, such as my Writer’s Block post, although it’s a little rough for my taste now.

Hopefully I’ll continue to improve and provide useful posts for other writers for years to come, so here’s to another year of blogging gone by, and I’m hoping for yet another, even better than before.

4 thoughts on “2 Year Blogoversary

  1. Wonderful insights and congratulations, it’s wonderful to hear your perspective on looking back and seeing your written self from a distance. But good on your two year ago self for taking the plunge and getting out there on the path to discovering your blogstyle. I’m just at the beginning so hope to have similar insights when I make it that far.

    Like

Leave a Reply

