NaNoWriMo Day 4 – 26k

I forgot to post this last night, so I’m doing it now. Better late than never, right? In honour of passing the halfway point, I thought I’d share a longer excerpt of what I wrote yesterday. It is one of many spats between my main character, Gwen, and her later love interest, Caleb. As mentioned in my previous post, Caleb was assigned to guide Gwen for her first day in an academy for new revenants, which was put together by an older revenant, Alistair, to show the newbies the ropes of magic and the rules of the new place.

The first thing Caleb said when he saw me waiting outside the classroom was: “Morticia showed us what you did to the plant. How the hell did you do that?”

“Magic,” I replied dryly.

“Why’d you go to Alistair’s office?”

“None of your business.”

Caleb crossed his arms. “They’re all saying Alistair’s going to teach you necromancy, that you’re some kind of… of… prodigy.”

In that moment, I realized he was quite agitated, clenching and unclenching his fists, and I just had to needle him further. “Sounds about right.”

“I don’t believe it.” Caleb slumped against the wall. “You, of all people. I didn’t know you were good at anything aside from holding a pair of pom-poms and smiling like an idiot.”

I put my hands on my hips, pretending not to notice the crowd of students gathering to watch our spat. “You clearly have no idea what you’re talking about. I could go on and on about the merits of cheerleading, but the finer points would be lost on you.”

“Ouch,” somebody whispered.

“Merits?” Caleb repeated. “Like an easy ride through high school? The ability to ruin people’s reputations because you’re all so popular?”

“Only an idiot would believe in those stereotypes,” I shot back. “Now take me to class before I kick your ass. Or maybe I’ll just have a little bitch to Alistair, since I’m apparently so good at ruining people’s reputations.”

Caleb opened his mouth, shut it and began to walk off without a word. Resisting the urge to kick off my shoes and throw them at his stupid head, I followed him.

“Gwen,” someone called. Elizabeth ran up to me, picking her long black curls out of her glasses as she went. “I’ll take you there if you want. Let the princess cool off.”

“Thanks.”

We walked together to the next class. Caleb had disappeared anyway.

Well, there you go. Hope you enjoyed that. I’m going to catch up on what I missed on the internet while I was asleep and then get back to writing.

Leave a Reply

