Day 1 Update – 6k

I hit six thousand words on my NaNovel about an hour ago, writing in various spurts. Every time I decided to get some done, the internet was closed, my door shut and the headphones went in. These tactics helped me focus on my Word document on the screen and the keyboard below my fingers. I’ve been more relaxed with my no internet rule than I was when I wrote the previous three thousand at midnight, because I had more time to do it. I was also tired due to the room invasion I mentioned in my previous post, so I didn’t want to push myself quite as hard.

So I took more regular breaks this time around, regularly updating my word count on a handful of sites every few hundred words, doing a little tweeting, checking the antics of my Facebook friends and so on. Then it was back to writing. So far, NaNoWriMo is working a treat. We’ll see if I still feel the same way in a week’s time.

EDIT: Because I don’t know when to quit, my word count is now 7000 and most likely on the rise.

EDIT EDIT: Okay, I just reached 10k. I’m going to stop now before initiate a word explosion.

2 thoughts on “Day 1 Update – 6k

  1. Holy moly! Nice work! I probably also wrote something like 10k words today, but unfortunately the first 7500 or so were for my boring day job as a sales writer! So at this rate you’ll be a winner by next Thursday, right? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

