Planning for NaNoWriMo

I started working on planning my NaNoWriMo novel yesterday, hashing out character profiles to give me a good idea of who I’m dealing with and I’ve started doing a chapter-by-chapter outline. I’m not normally one for detailed outlining, but since I’m going to be writing 50,000 words in a month amidst exams and university audition preparations, I need a game plan. I’m normally a combination of seat-of-the-pants writing and some planning, as in I generally don’t know exactly where I’m going to end up when I start writing, but I try to figure out what’s going to happen before I reach that point in the storyline.

The one thing I’m looking forward to with outlining is the security in knowing what to do next, but also leaving myself enough freedom to change things as I wish. Knowing me, the whole thing will probably change dramatically and I’ll have to rewrite the outline halfway through November.

So November will be an experiment in a technique I haven’t really used before, and may define my writing style for years to come. If I find outlining to my liking, I might take it to other projects. If I don’t like it so much, I can always go back to my loose planning I used beforehand.

4 thoughts on “Planning for NaNoWriMo

  1. Hey, i saw NaNoWriMo in the title and had to check you out. I have done NaNoWriMo for few years now. (Only finished once) Actually, the novel I am working on now started as my NaNo last year. I had dropped it for a while but am back with it.

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting. I think the beauty of NaNoWriMo, from where I stand as a noob, is that even if you don’t finish you still have something to work with if you do want to continue writing the novel you started. The novel I’m going with this year isn’t my main project, but it’s one I’d like to have see the light of day.

      Like

  2. I haven’t decided if I will do NaNoWriMo this year. I guess if I can finish the first draft of the YA novel I am working on now, I will.

    It is great to have the kick in the pants to start a project. Both for people who want to publish and just as a fun way to keep writing. And it is great to have the community there with you. I will keep up with your blog, for sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

