Emotional Distance

Ladies and gentleman, I am in a quandary. Whenever I reread my writing, I find that the emotional content is at one of two extremes: too melodramatic or too distant. More often than not, it’s the latter because I find it much easier to avoid the former. I think of this distance as “safe” writing because, even if the characters are undergoing a harrowing experience, the emotional impact on them doesn’t feel real enough, doesn’t hurt enough.

The problem is compounded because I think I might naturally be a distant person. I find it hard to tell the difference between too safe and just right. I’m constantly worried that my characters might not be reacting realistically to everything I throw at them, that they might be shrugging it off too easily. How did I work out that maybe I’m seeing my characters more heartlessly than readers will? Reader reviews of the stuff I post on the internet, WritersCafe in particular. A little while ago a I wrote a story called My Piano, My Hiding Place. I didn’t feel especially connected to the main character at the time, yet I got this review:

Such calamity and desperation. Parents who fight like that cause terrible damage to their children. (I know–went through it myself long ago) One must find ways to cope, so I can see where a piano could aid in that effort. For some, it might be drawing or painting, or writing. You write very well, Ann.

Now when I got back and read that story, I can see what he meant. I wrote that months ago. It has taken me all that time to see it in a better light. I am rarely happy with my work anymore, even as I’m writing it.

So that’s an example of me thinking the writing was too safe, though in the end my opinion changed. I guess part of my insecurity stems from the fact that I rarely, if ever, share experiences with my characters. I have a happy family life with two parents, a younger brother and a pair of funny dogs. We’re not struggling financially and the only ill-treatment I receive these days is from kids who are anti-authority to the point that even bus captains are seen as the enemy. None of that would be particularly interesting in a story. Not to me, anyway.

I’m sure my emotional distance problem could be combated by sharing my writing more often. That would be fine if I felt Coldfire, my current problem piece, was anywhere near ready to be seen by human eyes other than my own. I have posted the first few chapters on WritersCafe and DeviantArt, but I’m wary of posting any more as it’s all downhill from there. Perhaps things will change in the future.

Leave a Reply

