Stories and the FML Moment

I’m taking a leaf out of the Teens Writing For Teens blog’s book for this post. I was thinking of a way to easily summarize my characters’ problems at certain points of my novel, especially for the first 30k words or so as I’m doing a very violent rewrite there. I remembered reading “The FML Moment” post on the Teens Writing For Teens blog, though I didn’t really think that much about it at the time. FML stands for F*** My Life, for the unenlightened. I’m thinking maybe I should start listing FML moments as my planning for stories rather than listing events as they happen. Sometimes I didn’t even bother pre-planning. I like to call it the Half-Baked Plan method. Well, no, not really. I just made that up.

Anyway, I thought this could be an interesting planning method, provided you have some idea of where the story’s going. These would be a few FMLs for my main character, Darian:

I was minding my own business waiting at the train station when a bunch of guys decided it’d be fun to beat me up. Yeah, thanks, guys. FML

I made it to Valora and promptly find out people are following us. They’re wearing metal masks and one’s now trying to shoot me. I love people. FML

Valora told me the President isn’t really the guy in charge. Apparently we’re being ruled by a pair of psychopaths. FML

And so on. I think I might actually try this. It could an interesting experiment. I’ll keep you guys posted on how well this works. I’ll call it the “FML Method”. Yeah, I’m great at giving things names (not).

2 thoughts on “Stories and the FML Moment

  1. That’s a really unique way to flesh out your characters!

    I might have to try this sometime. My character seems all flaws at the minute, and I think I’ve tried to hard to make her relatable that I’ve kind of made her a miserable old soul.

    What’s worse is that she somewhat reminds me of Hermione Granger with her constant babbling inside my head.

    Like

    • Well, my main character was almost a Harry-clone when I started creating him. Sometimes it takes writing out the whole novel before you know your main character. That’s what it took for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

