After The Battle

I just finished writing the big ‘final battle’ sort of scene for my novel. It’s not exactly what I had in mind, but I don’t even know what I had in mind in the first place. Well, the end result is the same. My main character is alive but injured and his love interest is almost dead. My main character had more of a breakdown than I had anticipated. That might have to change in the edit, since he’s not supposed to be a weak characters. Weak characters annoy me.

So the bad guys have fled and the good guys have won. How do I wrap things up without going on for too long? I need my protagonist to discover his friend is hurt. The protagonist must help the friend make peace with his love interest’s guardian. I need to have a certain artefact destroyed and my protagonist and his love interest to come to an impasse.

I’m not sure what is more annoying: stories that end too soon or stories that overstay their welcome. I think my novel may be leaning towards the latter. I guess time will tell how much I want to bang my head into a wall upon rereading the draft.

Leave a Reply

