“Shiver” by Maggie Stiefvater

I just finished reading “Shiver” for the second time, and was just as impressed as I had been when I first read it. This book is another in the current trend of paranormal romances for teenage girls, yet it stands out with its quality of writing and the characters actually thinking through their predicaments rather than the old “teenage stupidity” idea made popular by “Romeo and Juliet”. I hate “Romeo and Juliet”. Romeo is a weak character, overreacting to everything and Juliet is not any better. Lovers of the story can rail and moan as much as they please, but that doesn’t change the fact that the play is a tragedy because of stupidity, plain and simple. Rushing into things, including the declaration of their love, and getting married incredibly soon after meeting.

“Shiver” has two protagonists: sensible, pragmatic Grace Brisbane and poetic, damaged Sam Roth. The novel puts a clever new twist on the werewolf legend that is unique and interesting. Even without the name of the character on top of the first page of each chapter, it’s clear which character is narrating the story. Both characters have interesting perspectives and predicaments that eventually crash together. “Shiver” is a must-read for romance-lovers, and has a sequel called “Linger” that comes out later this year.

2 thoughts on ““Shiver” by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. The “Paranormal Romance” genre has been exhausted with Twilight-inspired books. This book was a bit of a light in the murky waters of the vampire books in the YA section of the world’s libraries and bookstores, and I hope that Linger and Forever continue to be well received for this interesting series.

    Like

    • I like a good vampire book…as long as it’s actually good. There are so many horrible ones out there. Luckily for me, one of my friends is a vampire-reader and sort of acts as my filter. I’ll pretty much read any fantasy/paranormal romance as long as I like the style and the characters. However, vampire books are everywhere and I’m kind of sick of them. I adored “Shiver”, and I also hope “Linger” and “Forever” will be well-received.

      Like

Leave a Reply

